St Mary's Catholic School takes out Waikato Bay of Plenty AgriKids Contest

Posted by on 9 February 2020 | Comments

A trio from St Mary’s Catholic School in Putaruru have been announced as the Waikato Bay of Plenty AgriKids winners.

Called “Mixed Breed”, the team was made up by Isaac Farrell, 11, Liam van der Heyden, 12 and Genevieve Farrell, 12.

They have been invited to Christchurch to compete in the Grand Final, along with second place getters from Waikite School and third place, also from St Mary’s Catholic School.

Isaac said he’s excited to compete in Christchurch after their team “smoked up” against teams from across the region.

“The animal, footprint pest module was the hardest” he said.

Genevieve said she hopes they’ll do okay at the Grand Final, after winning the race off by around two minutes.

“The race off was pretty fun,” she said.  

The contest was held at Saint Pauls Collegiate on Saturday and ran alongside FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year and FMG Young Farmer of the Year (FMG YFOTY) Regional Finals.

Competing in teams of three, AgriKids completed a series of modules hosted by our sponsors before the top seven teams were announced.

From there the top seven teams went head to head in “The Race Off”, undertaking a sequence of tasks in a time and points challenge.

‘Cream of the Crop’ trio, made up by trio Lachlan Woulfe, Max Lang and Siniva Teague from Waikite Valley School in Rotorua came in second place.

Siniva was also awarded the AgriKids Competitor of the Day.

Meanwhile in third place were ‘The Cowgirls’– Ava Fladgate, Maeve Pacey and Nellie Jeffares, also from St Mary’s Putaruru.

The top two teams for the FMG Junior Young Farmer of the Year have also been invited to the Grand Final.

The event was sponsored by FMG, Ravensdown, Honda, WorkSafe, PTS, STIHL, Lincoln University, Massey University, Southfuels/Northfuels, Betacraft and New Holland. 



1st Mixed Breed – Isaac Farrell, Liam van der Heyden and Genevieve Farrell, St Mary’s Catholic School Putaruru

2nd Cream of the Crop – Lachlan Woulfe, Max Lang, Siniva Teague, Waikite Valley School

3rd The Cowgirls – Ava Fladgate, Maeve Pacey and Nellie Jeffares, St Mary’s Putaruru

AgriKids Competitor of the Day – Siniva Teague